Posted by: jennhsimpson | November 22, 2010

Our Charleston Anniversary Staycation

Friday we left our baby boy, Brayden, for the first time over-night to celebrate our 5th anniversary. No need to travel far… we headed straight downtown Charleston. This is why we love our hometown! There’s always a new restaurant to try out or a new place to go to with friends. On our way, we made a quick stop at Jacob’s Kitchen at the front of I’On Village in Mount Pleasant. Great food, amazing staff and quaint atmosphere. Do not go there without trying their Fried Green Tomato BLT (equipped with a generous helping of pimento cheese)… I mean, all of my favorite foods rolled up into one delicious dish!

After making it downtown, we had a few minutes to indulge our fashion cravings at Urban Outfitters. I scored an amazing Faux Leather Bomber Jacket and skirt, while Chris also picked up a sweet Sweater Jacket and pants. Can I just tell you how much I love this store right now? Tis their season!

A quick stop-off at Stella Nova for a 30-minute couples massage set the tone for a wonderful, relaxing evening together. We checked into our room at Charleston Place Hotel just to discover I left all of my hair supplies at home. But, luckily, I was having a somewhat decent hair day so I tousled it around a bit, got dressed and took off for dinner at Husk. Only great things to say about this new restaurant – except maybe the cornbread… yeah, don’t order the cornbread – as it lived up to all of its glamorous hype.

Last, but certainly not least, we were off to Molly Darcy’s to meet our friends. OK, so this used to be the old Meritage downtown, and honestly it feels exactly the same except there are a bunch of TV’s plastered to the walls. I have tons of memories in that building and apparently we just created one more!

So – to summarize – shopping, massages, fine dining, five-star hotel and friends made for THE MOST WONDERFUL birthday and anniversary EVER. I am so blessed to have my husband in my life. Happy 5 years, baby!

Me & all the guys!

Sarena, Lindsey, me & Danielle

 


Responses

  1. Sounds like the perfect day, Jenn! So sad we missed you that night. Happy birthday.


Leave a comment

Categories